The Secrets Act

£7.99

Pearl and Ellen are recruited to work at code-cracking HQ, Bletchley Park, during World War Two – but when they stumble across a sinister plot which threatens the very soul of the war effort, their budding friendship is put to the test.

In stock

SKU: 9781913322991 Category:

Description

 

Codebreaker. Friend. Spy?

A thrilling, nail-biting YA mystery with themes of friendship, loyalty, secrets, and a dash of romance.

Wartime.

Pearl and Ellen work at top-secret codebreaking HQ,
Bletchley Park.

Pearl is the youngest. A messenger at sixteen, she’s untidy, lively, bright, and half in love with the wrong boy, Richard. Her circle of friends overlaps with his – the dashing young men on their motorcycles who courier the secrets that Bletchley deciphers.

Ellen is a codebreaker. Reserved, analytical and beautiful. She never expected to get close to a girl like Pearl – or fall for a chap like Dennis.

But when tragedy strikes, their logical world is upended, with both friends caught in a spy plot that rocks the very heart of the war effort. Who can they turn to now? Who can they trust? And above all, can they unmask the traitor in their midst before it’s too late?

  • Follows two young women, Pearl and Ellen, who are recruited to work at Bletchley Park during the Second World War
  • Set in atmospheric 1940s England, The Secrets Act also explores serious historical themes
  • Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity

Additional information

Weight 0.27 kg
Dimensions 19.8 × 13.9 × 2.5 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

355

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

Young Adult / Code: C

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Secrets Act”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *