A poisoner’s tale

£16.99

Rome, 1656. In the shadowy backstreets of the Eternal City lies an apothecary – a place for women to take their heartbreaks and troubles. Herbs for childbirth. Tarot readings to tell their fortunes. An undetectable poison that can kill in four drops. Alongside her circle of female poisoners, Giulia Tofana dispenses her deadly potion to free the downtrodden women of Rome from their abusive husbands. But even in a time of Plague, it does not go unnoticed when the men of Rome begin to fall like flies. With a newly-elected Pope hell-bent on ridding the city of heretics and witches, and the Holy Office of the Inquisition on her tail, Giulia is in more danger than ever. How far will she go for the women who need her help?

Peek Inside

In stock

Description

Discover the dark and gothic historical novel inspired by the true story of Giulia Tofana, the first documented female serial killer in history. Perfect for fans of The Familiars and The Lost Apothecary.

‘A mesmerizing story of power and subjugation? gripping and poignant from beginning to end’ – LAURA CARLIN

‘Gorgeous. . . brimming with rich detail and intrigue.’ C. J. COOKE

————–

Murderer or saviour? You decide. . .

Rome, 1656

In the shadowy backstreets of the Eternal City lies an apothecary’s shop – a place for women to take their heartbreaks and troubles. Herbs for childbirth. Tarot readings to tell their fortunes. An undetectable poison that can kill in four drops.

Alongside her circle of female poisoners, Giulia Tofana dispenses her deadly potion to free the downtrodden women of the city from their abusive husbands.

A path she’s determined to follow after a harrowing childhood in Palermo.

But even in a time of plague, it does not go unnoticed when the men of Rome begin to fall like flies.

With a newly elected Pope hell-bent on ridding the city of heretics and witches, and the Holy Office of the Inquisition on her tail, Giulia is in more danger than ever. . .

How far will she go for the women who need her help?

Exploring the realities of what it is like to be a woman who rebels against society, A Poisoner’s Tale takes the reader on a tense, challenging but spellbinding journey. This is not just a retelling of the legend of Giulia Tofana but an ode to sisterhood and motherhood, to defiance and secret rebellion.

————–

Praise for A Poisoner’s Tale:

‘Utterly captivating ? Kemp is an astonishingly talented storyteller, and her characters will linger long after you’ve finished reading.’ NAOMI KELSEY

Gripping. Devastating. A beautifully intense read.’ ISABELLE SCHULER

‘Kemp has created a complex and courageous heroine who is not afraid to walk a dark and dangerous path for what she believes in, and I fell in love with her from the start.’ ELIZABETH LEE

Read a sample here

Additional information

Weight 0.62 kg
Dimensions 24.3 × 16.3 × 3.6 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Hardback

Pages

400

Language

English

Edition

Hardback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “A poisoner’s tale”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *